Education, Outreach, & Technical Resources

As part of system development, the ShakeAlert® Joint Committee for Communication, Education, Outreach and Technical Engagement (JCCEO&TE) was formed in 2016 to provide consistent guidance regarding the ShakeAlert system’s human interface.

JCCEO&TE coordinates development of the guidance and resources that are elemental to successful and sustained user uptake of the system to maximize life-safety and property protection impacts. As the operational ShakeAlert System continues to evolve, the JCCEO&TE provides feedback on system-wide approaches and materials that take into consideration best practices, social science, and user-specific needs.

JCCEO&TE provides a platform for discussion and coordination of tailored implementation plans by regions, for various uses (automated, organizational, and public), and for the whole community. JCCEO&TE reports directly to Acting National ShakeAlert Program Coordinator Valerie Thomas.

JCCEO&TE also provides the sharing and coordination platform for independent communication, education, outreach and Technical Engagement programs among the three states (Oregon, Washington, and California) who are in the process of implementing ShakeAlert. The USGS is also coordinating CEO efforts with Natural Resources Canada as they develop an earthquake early warning system for Canada.

JCCEO&TE is currently led by Robert de Groot (USGS), Chair, Kaitlyn Nelson (USGS), Vice-Chair, and Sara McBride (USGS), Vice-Chair.





JCCEO National Committee Members (as of 4/2021)


Kelly Missett – University of Oregon

Laura Gabel – Department of Geology and Mineral Industries

Althea Rizzo – Office of Emergency Management


Brian Terbush  – Emergency Management Division

Corina Forson & Megan Anderson, Department of Natural Resources – Washington Geological Survey

Bill Steele and Gabriel Lotto – University of Washington


Tal Edgecomb – University of California, Berkeley

Philip Labra, Yvonne Dorantes, and Jeff Braverman – Governor’s Office of Emergency Services

Cynthia Pridmore – California Geological Survey

Margaret Vinci – California Institute of Technology

U.S. Geological Survey

Valerie Thomas – Acting ShakeAlert Program National Coordinator

Robert de Groot – ShakeAlert Coordinator for Communication, Education, Outreach and Technical Engagement

James Mitchell – Office of Policy and Analysis

Paul Laustsen and Elizabeth Goldbaum – Office of Communications and Publishing

Sara McBride – Social Science Research Coordinator and JCCEO&TE Vice-Chair

Kaitlyn Nelson – ShakeAlert Assistant Coordinator for Communication, Education, Outreach and Technical Engagement

Chris Trent – USGS Congressional Liaison


Alison Bird – Natural Resources Canada

Robert A. L. White – Emergency Management British Columbia

Members from other Organizations:

Danielle Sumy – Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology

Shelley Olds – UNAVCO

Chris Cardiel, Marcie Benne, Jenny Crayne, Raquel Stewart, and Carla Herran – Oregon Museum of Science and Industry